Hey there!

Send RunSport a message! We’ll get back to you as soon as possible.

SAANICH – In 1990, the first ever Times Colonist 10K event (known previously as the Garden City 10K), was launched with just around 2300 participants, all entered manually on paper. Today, after the birth of the internet, the event has blossomed to over 8,000 walkers and runners registering easily through an online registration system. For thirty years the TC 10K has celebrated this annual community event with hundreds of volunteers, school teams, corporate teams, walkers, runners, sponsors, supporters, friends and families from across Vancouver Island, the Mainland and Seattle area. “The original intention for the 10K, now the TC 10K, was to both support the running community and bring the joy of running and healthy living to all of Greater Victoria,” said Chris Siver, President of RunSport Society. “Since that time the race has grown into a cultural event and the catalyst for change for countless people. RunSport could not be more proud to host the 30th annual event this year.” The TC 10K route follows a scenic route through the streets of downtown eventually following along beautiful Dallas Road before finishing in front of our BC Legislature. “The TC 10K has been a staple in this community for 30 years and brings together not only the residents of Victoria but across the City and Vancouver Island,” said City of Victoria Mayor Lisa Helps. “I’m thrilled to be taking part as a participant in this year’s TC 10K and I’m sending a challenge to my fellow mayors to join me along with their residents in a Mayor’s challenge for 2019.” The TC 10K supports seven local charities as part of registration. Participants can choose from a drop-down menu to raise money as an individual or as a team. The seven charities include BC Cancer Agency, Every Step Counts, Help Fill A Dream, Heart and Stroke Foundation, Victoria Hospitals Foundation, Cystic Fibrosis and the Times Colonist Literacy Society. “I’m honoured that the BC Cancer Foundation has chosen the Carol Lalonde/Marlene Palmer Ovarian Cancer Research Fund to represent it in this year’s Times Colonist 10K,” said Patty Pitts, founder of the Fund. “While honouring my two dear late friends, the fund is supporting breakthrough research in Victoria to provide better outcomes for women battling this terrible disease”. This year’s race features some participants who will have completed all thirty of the TC 10K events including 89-year-old Maurice Tarrant, who still holds many age-group records for the distance. “At 89 years young, with many Canadian records under his belt, and inductions into both the Victoria Sports Hall of Fame and the BC Athletics Hall of Fame, participating in each of the 30 TC10K races, this event continues to be one of Maurice’s favourite races and proudest accomplishments”, said Claire Tarrant-Rowley, Maurice’s daughter and training partner. “Each year he looks forward to the relaxed atmosphere, fun camaraderie, and the many new faces he sees and people he meets along the way!” This year’s TC 10K is anticipating over 8,000 participants and their families on April 28th, 2019. The TC 10K race begins at 8:00 a.m. and the Thrifty Foods Family run at 11:00 a.m. The TC 10K Expo and race package pick-up will be taking place at Uptown. For more details on the event visit or contact Trish Fougner, TC 10K Race Director at [email protected] or 250 472-6482.

Facts and Figures for the 30th TC 10K

  • 30 years ago just over 2,000 participants took part in the first 10K event.
  • The first three years the event was called the Garden City 10K.
  • Winners in 1990 were Debbie Scott and Gary Barber, former UVic Vikes athletes and Olympic and Commonwealth Games participants.
  • Registrations in 1990 were done by hand and entered manually.
  • Approximately 250,000 people have taken part in 30 years of the TC 10K (Thrifty Foods Family Run, 10K and 1⁄2 Marathon)
  • Over 25,000 volunteers have been a part of the TC 10K event.
  • TC 10K records for men and women are held by Simon Chemwoiyo 28:47 in 1995 and Karolina Jarzynska 32:56 in 2011
  • Lucy Smith is 6-time women’s winner
  • Steve Osaduik is a 3-time men’s winner

View all blogs